Thanksgiving Harvest Bounty -II

Today while the last of my nice Organic tomatoes were roasting, I prepared some juicy fresh red peppers for grilling in the oven.   Nothing easier to do really. My recipe is based on Marcella Hazan’s Essential of Classic Italian Cooking and on Ina Garten’s Barefoot Comtessa.
image image
Take a dozen nice red peppers

Roasted Red Peppers Ready to be jarred in oil or bagged for the freezer.

Roasted Red Peppers Ready to be jarred in oil or bagged for the freezer.

Rub them with ordinary vegetable oil
Prepare rimmed cookie sheets by placing parchment paper
Place peppers stem up on rimmed cookie sheets
Preheat oven at 500 degrees.
When oven is ready place peppers in oven
Turn them over after twenty minutes.
Cook another twenty minutes.
Peppers are ready when they are nicely charred all over.
Remove from oven and Cover immediately with foil.
Allow to rest thirty minutes.
Gently peel, core and seed peppers; laying each pepper on a plate as you go.
Peppers can be gently layered in a jar and covered in oil.  They will keep in refrigerator for a week.  The oil is yummy in a salad dressing or when frying vegetables Ina soffritto.  Roasted red peppers make a great addition to an antipasto plate or as a condiment with a broiled white fish.
I like to place them in zip lock bags in the freezer.  They are easy to use as needed.

About seasidechef

I'm passionate about food. I'm keenly interested in new techniques and ingredients. I care about how food is produced and where I shop. I'm committed to co-operatives because of their grassroots impact on communities.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment