Thanksgiving Harvest Bounty – I

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian friends. We’ve had a beautiful sunny weekend so far and it was beautiful weather to process lots of harvest bounty; some purchased and some home grown. Yesterday I started oven roasting 20 lb of organic field tomatoes from a local grower. I had a look in Marcella Hazan’s Essentials of Clasic Italian Cooking and a few of my favorite food blogs; notably David Lebovitz’.
I settled on the following recipe of my own. Based on the fact that my tomatoes varied in size from two inches in diameter to more than four and that they were ripe and juicy I extended the cooking time quite a bit.
Roasted Field Tomatoes
Cut parchment paper to fit rimmed cookie sheets.
Cut tomatoes horizontally; one stem side one top side.
Place tomato cut side up on cookie sheets
Drizzle olive oil, kosher salt and pepper to taste.
I prefer not to add thyme or garlic but you sure can!
Set oven to 325 degrees and cook for three hours.
If you have several cookie sheets on the go then switch them from lower to upper rack every hour.
Smaller tomatoes may be ready after an hour but mine needed at least two.
As tomatoes are ready you can remove them to cool on rack.
When cooled, slide them into ziplock bags and place in freezer.
If you wish to keep some in the fridge for up to a week then place in canning jar and add olive oil to cover.  I add thyme in these jars.  The oil will make great vinaigrette.
As a snack – a la David Lebovitz – warm tomatoes with dusting of fresh thyme and feta cheese.  Makes a great little appi with Campari .
Note: I left the larger ones in the warm oven overnight as they weren’t ready.  Today I just roasted them another twenty minutes or so.  These tomatoes are not dried but have a little caramelization on them.  I will be adding them to sauces or straight to pasta this winter for an intense burst of flavour.

Fresh Organic Tomatoes Ready to be Roasted

Fresh Organic Tomatoes Ready to be Roasted

Ready to go in Jar or ziplock bag

Ready to go in Jar or ziplock bag

About seasidechef

I'm passionate about food. I'm keenly interested in new techniques and ingredients. I care about how food is produced and where I shop. I'm committed to co-operatives because of their grassroots impact on communities.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

