Parsley, Rosemary and Thyme

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian fellow foodies. Turkey day today but somehow I didn’t end up having to cook one. Our daughter’s wonderful in-laws had dinner for sixteen; a small group for them. It was a lovely meal and since my pies were made earlier this week I had time for other foodie adventures.

This morning started with processing a humongous batch of parsley which I harvested yesterday from ONE plant. All told I had ten overflowing and well stuffed cups of parsley once I had removed the stems.image
So I made Walnut Parsley Pesto. I made one recipe of Giada DeLaurentiis‘ recipe from Everyday Pasta. Tomorrow’s supper will be Capellini Piedmontese which features that pesto.

Walnut Parsley Pesto – Giada DeLaurentiis

From One Plant

From One Plant

Two cups lightly packed flat leaved parsley ( mine was curly)
3/4 cups toasted walnuts
1Tbs fresh thyme
3 garlic cloves
1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Place parsley, walnuts, thyme and garlic in bowl of food processor.
Pulse till well blended and very finely chopped.
With processor running slowly drizzle in olive oil.
Taste and adjust seasonings.

This turned out to be a delicious alternative to my usual basil pesto and just the ticket to preserve the freshness of all that lovely parsley.

Then I made four batches of my own recipe.

Ready to be Gifted, Eaten or Stored

Ready to be Gifted, Eaten or Stored

Walnut Parsley Pesto – Chef Nancy

Two cups well packed curly leaved parsley
3/4 cups toasted walnuts
3 garlic cloves
1/4 cup grated Parmigiana
2 tbs pure, organic lemon juice
1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
3/4 tsp  ground pink Himalayan salt -really tasty and good for you
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Place parsley, walnuts, cheese, lemon and garlic in bowl of food processor.
Pulse till well blended and very finely chopped.
With processor running slowly drizzle in olive oil.
Taste and adjust seasonings.

I think the cheese and lemon juice add depth and zip to the flavour.
Since I got this done fairly early in the day I had time to go to one of the many U-Pick apple orchards in our region. It was a beautiful sunny day. Stay tuned for pics and a new – old recipe using crab apples. Should be up by tomorrow or Wednesday.

About seasidechef

I'm passionate about food. I'm keenly interested in new techniques and ingredients. I care about how food is produced and where I shop. I'm committed to co-operatives because of their grassroots impact on communities.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment